Mobile Turbocharge will be discontinued and unavailable from 7th October. Find out more.
In this article, we'll go through some commonly asked questions and answers about Optus Mobile Turbocharge.
FAQs
Specific improvements in speeds and performance cannot be guaranteed as your actual experience may vary and will depend on a number of factors such as activating in low network coverage areas, whether you're travelling between mobile cell towers, weather, radio interference, and obstructions (e.g. buildings).
To ensure that every customer on an active Mobile Turbocharge session has the best possible network experience and to maintain the integrity of the network, there is a limited number of turbocharges available in beta. If all available spots are being used when you try to activate Mobile Turbocharge on My Optus app, you will be notified and can try again later.
In the beta period, you'll have 5 free 1-hour turbocharges to use per month for each mobile service. You may have additional free turbocharges given during the beta period at Optus' discretion.
Mobile Turbocharge beta improves your mobile data connection by prioritising your data traffic in periods of high demand for 1 hour. This means you'll experience a higher priority for your mobile data connection than other Optus customers during periods of high demand. It does not impact your mobile voice connection. After the 1-hour period is complete, prioritisation is removed.
Once you've clicked the Get now button in My Optus app, you'll be shown a screen that confirms you are turbocharged. You'll also receive an in-app notification in My Optus app that confirms your Mobile Turbocharge has started.
Yes. Mobile Turbocharge works best in periods of high demand on the Optus mobile network.
You can have an active Mobile Turbocharge session while you're connected to the 3G mobile network, but you will not experience any improvements as Mobile Turbocharge does not work on the 3G mobile network. It only works on the 4G and 5G non-standalone network.
You can only activate one Mobile Turbocharge at any one time. You'll have 5 free 1-hour turbocharges to use per month for your mobile service during the beta period, until the paid launch.
You will not be able to activate Mobile Turbocharge if you've reached the data allowance on your plan. If you exceed your data allowance and your speed is throttled whilst you have an active Mobile Turbocharge session, your data connection will still be prioritised, but only at your throttled speeds. You'll therefore likely experience reduced benefits of Mobile Turbocharge compared to if you were turbocharged on an unthrottled service.
No, any unused turbocharges from your previous month will not be carried forward to the next month. Your monthly turbocharges will reset to 5 on the 1st of every month, regardless of the number of turbocharges you have remaining at the end of the previous month.