AutoRecharge is an automatic recharge which can be set up based on frequency. AutoRecharge lets you set and forget, so you don't have to worry about heading instore to buy a voucher.
From 1 April 2017, the Optus 2G mobile network is closing down. To find out if you'll be affected and for more information, go to www.optus.com.au/2gupdate
Enter the mobile number you'd like to recharge and select your recharge amount.
Choose how you'd like to AutoRecharge, depending on your plan.
Follow the link in the confirmation email or confirm the validation code sent via SMS to confirm your new AutoRecharge.
Frequently Asked Questions
No, unfortunately this communication can't be switched off.
For Mobile customers, if you set up AutoRecharge online, you can choose to get communication via SMS or email (not both). If you set up AutoRecharge in the My Optus app, you can only get communication via SMS. For Mobile Broadband customers, you can only get communication via email.
Unfortunately you can't, you can only receive communication via SMS if you set up in the My Optus app. If you would like to receive notifications via email, you can cancel your AutoRecharge and reset it up online, where email is a communication option.
You'll get notifications when your AutoRecharges are applied, which happens between 11pm and 12 midnight (Sydney time).
Check your junk or spam folder, as well as your inbox.
We'll send you a reminder 48 hours in advance via your chosen communications channel (email or SMS).
Even if you have AutoRecharge set up, you'll still receive these alerts.
As you initially chose email, you'll continue to receive email communication. To change to SMS, you'll need to cancel your AutoRecharge and set it up again, choosing SMS as your communication preference.
Unfortunately not, but keep an eye out as we may introduce this in the future.
Yes it does, and communications are sent via email.
At optus.com.au/recharge, if you selected "Set Up AutoRecharge" you can choose to start your AutoRecharge on a date within the next 30 days. If you selected "Recharge with Credit Card or Debit Card" you will be recharged immediately and your AutoRecharge will commence from your next recharge. If you are setting it up in the My Optus app, your AutoRecharge will commence when your current recharge expires.
You'll only be able to choose from certain options related to your plan.
If you're setting up an AutoRecharge online at optus.com.au/recharge, it only needs to occur at the same time if you have selected "Recharge with Credit Card or Debit Card". If you have selected "Set Up AutoRecharge" you can set it up to start on a future date. AutoRecharges set up in the My Optus app will commence when your current recharge expires.
Unfortunately AutoRecharge is not available for all recharge price points.
You can cancel your AutoRecharge in a number of ways. For Mobile customers, you can cancel using the My Optus app, or via one of your email or SMS notifications. For Mobile Broadband customers, you can cancel via one of your email notifications.
No, even if you stop using your SIM you will need to cancel your AutoRecharge service. For Mobile customers, you can do this using the My Optus app, or via one of your email or SMS notifications. For Mobile Broadband customers, you can cancel via one of your email notifications.
No, even in the instance of a change of ownership, you'll still need to cancel your AutoRecharge.
No, if you change plans, you need to update your AutoRecharge settings (which can be done in the My Optus app for Mobile customers), otherwise you risk losing your credit. Alternatively you can cancel your AutoRecharge online and set up a new AutoRecharge.
When you change plans, you'll need to edit your AutoRecharge settings accordingly. When you were on the My Prepaid Long Expiry plan, your recharge frequency may have been set at 186 days, whereas on the My Prepaid Ultimate plan, your recharge frequency will need to be set at 28 days.
Your payment details will only remain in the payment channel you entered them into.
If a withdrawal is unsuccessful, your AutoRecharge will be cancelled, and your financial institution may also charge you a fee.
If you would like to change any of your AutoRecharge settings online, you'll need to cancel your AutoRecharge, and set it up again. However, Mobile customers can edit settings using the My Optus app. Editing includes - frequency of days, credit card details and recharge amount, but does not include editing your email address.
You'll need to cancel your AutoRecharge and set it up again.
Yes, your data will roll over because AutoRecharge takes place just before your credit expires, which is a condition of rollover.
Check whether you have insufficient funds on your credit/debit card. In this instance, your AutoRecharge would have cancelled and you will have lost any accumulated balances.
If your Prepaid plan is not able to roll over balances, you'll lose any leftover credit upon manual or AutoRecharges. This means that when you manually recharge in-between AutoRecharges, you'll forfeit any leftover credit when AutoRecharge kicks in again.
Manual recharges will not push out the date your next AutoRecharge is processed and only rollover balances will be maintained.
AutoRecharge is available on the following plans:
New Turbo Cap Plus
Optus Prepaid Social 4G Ready
Turbo Cap Plus
Connect 4 Less
Long Expiry Cap
Every Now and Then
Turbo Cap Bonus
Two Dollar Days 3G Ready
Two Dollar Days 4G Ready
Optus Prepaid Cap
Super Cap by Optus
My Prepaid Ultra
My Prepaid Ultra Plus
My Prepaid Daily
My Prepaid Daily Plus
My Prepaid Mobile Broadband
My Prepaid Ultimate
My Prepaid Long Expiry
Prepaid Daily Maximiser
Prepaid Ultimate Plus
If you need a little more, check out our MyTalk, MyData, Extra’s Credit and Travel Add Ons^.
^ Only available on My Prepaid Ultimate, My Prepaid Ultra and Ultra Plus.
Running on empty? Consider filling your tank with one of our awesome top ups. Not available on My Prepaid plans.
Text IOU to 468 and get extra credit when you need it most on select plans. Simply pay us back next time you recharge.