Mobile Shared Data Usage Alerts

To help you keep track of your Postpaid / Prepaid Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband usage, we'll send free usage alerts via text or e-mail. If you're on a Mobile Broadband plan that doesn't share its data usage, click here for info on how these usage alerts work.

To set up, customise or opt-out of usage alerts, log in to My Account.

Postpaid Mobile Phone / Broadband

Optus usage alerts are a handy addition to your mobile plan that help you keep on top of your talk and data usage each month. We automatically send you an SMS or e-mail reminder whenever you've reached 50%, 85% and 100% of your monthly plan inclusions.

If you're travelling overseas, we'll send you an alert for every $100 of estimated spend while roaming.

Postpaid usage alerts are sent out 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Alerts are not generated in real-time and a delay of up to 48 hours may be experienced.

What happens after I reach 100%?

  • My Plan Plus / My Plan Business Plans: You'll be charged automatically for the extra minutes or data and we'll send additional alerts when you've used 85% and 100% of your extra minutes and data
  • Other Mobile Phone Plans: You'll be charged your plan's regular rates. To find out what they are, check out your Critical Information Summary
  • Other Mobile Broadband Plans: You'll be automatically charged for the extra data and receive additional alerts when you've used 85% and 100% of your extra data

Further help

  • If you have data sharing, then all services on a My Plan Plus / My Plan Business (including SIM-Only) / My Mobile Broadband Plus / Mobile Broadband Business (on the same account) will receive usage alerts based on the whole data pool's usage.
  • Some of our My Plan Plus plans now include minutes to selected international countries, so if you are on one of these plans you'll also get usage alerts for these inclusions too. Want to know more about our latest plans? Head over to our My Plan Plus page
  • Keep in mind that usage alerts don't include calls / messages that are not included in your plan or for usage outside of Australia (including purchased Optus Travel™ Packs). Instead, we'll send you an alert once you've reached $50 (ex GST).

Back to Top

Prepaid Mobile Phone

We'll send you an alert via SMS to give you a heads up about how you're tracking. We'll let you know if you're running low on credit, and on My Prepaid Daily and My Prepaid Daily Plus we'll also let you know if we've bumped you up for the day.

Usage alerts are triggered at different intervals and are sent in real time, although delays may occur from time to time.

If you're on a My Prepaid Daily, My Prepaid Daily Plus or My Prepaid Ultra plan, you are not able to opt out of usage alerts.

Low balance warning message

Unfortunately, you cannot opt-out from the low balance warning message. You can however, set up AutoRecharge so your service is topped up once the account reaches the low balance level.

Back to Top