How Data Sharing With Data Pool Works: Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

Need to know more about data sharing with Data Pool?  Check out a topic below...

What is Data Sharing and Data Pool?

Want to share data between your services? With Data Pool, now you can. Simply combine any eligible Mobile and Mobile Broadband plans onto one bill and they will automatically group their data into a Data Pool.

With Data Pool, if you've used up your monthly data allowance, you'll start drawing data from the pool (as long as there is data in there). If you've used all the data in the pool and need more, you can add a Data Add-On Pack. We'll also automatically top up your Data Pool with an extra 1GB for just $10.

Show me how it all works

Here's an example of how Data Pool would work for your family

image showing how Data Pool works for your family

Here's an example of how Data Pool would work for your team

image showing how Data Pool works for your team

Back to Top

Which plans can share data?

You can share data as long as you're on any combination of the Postpaid Mobile or Mobile Broadband plans below:

There's no limit to the number of eligible services that you can combine to share data in your Data Pool (subject to credit approval).

Not sure which plan you're on? Check out this page.

Back to Top

What if I use all the data in the Data Pool?

We'll automatically top up your Data Pool ($10 per 1GB of extra data) for you to use until the end of your current billing month. The extra data will be available to use by all the services in the Data Pool. We'll also send you usage alerts along the way, so you can monitor your spend.

Is the $10 (for 1GB of extra data) charged to each device?

Extra data usage will always be charged to the principal service. This is the first Mobile or Mobile Broadband service that was activated on an eligible plan on the account. The principal service will own all of the costs associated with a Data Pool (including any extra data that is added to the pool).

If the principal service is cancelled or moved to an ineligible plan, the second eligible Mobile or Mobile Broadband service will automatically become the principal service. More info on what happens when you cancel a sharing service is available in the FAQs below.

Will I be warned before I use extra data?

Of course! You'll get free SMS alerts when you reach 50%, 85% and 100% of your Data Pool usage. You'll also receive free SMS alerts at 85% and 100% usage for any extra data that you have been given.

Click on the links for further information on managing your data usage and usage alerts.

Back to Top

How does the Shared Data Plan (Data Sharing SIM) work with Data Pool?

If your Mobile Broadband service is on a Shared Data Plan, it can share data from a Data Pool as long as,

  • it's attached to a Mobile service that's in contract on My Plan Plus / My Plan Business (incl. SIM Only)
  • the service it is attached to is part of a Data Pool

If you cancel all of the My Plan Plus / My Plan Business (incl. SIM only) services on your account, you can either,

  • change from a Shared Data Plan to a My Mobile Broadband Plus / My Mobile Broadband Business plan
  • stay on the Shared Data Plan - any data usage will be charged at $10 per 1GB (or part there-of)

Important! Once you're out of contract, any Shared Data Plan (Data Sharing SIM) services will be cancelled or migrated to the $5 My Mobile Broadband Plus. Get more information about this here.

Back to Top

FAQs

Q. How do I keep a track of my shared data usage?

A. We've set up a few ways to keep on top of your data usage. Just head over to this page to read all about monitoring and tracking your usage.

Q. What if I cancel a service that is part of the Data Pool?

A. The total data in your Data Pool will reduce by the amount of data that the cancelled Mobile or Mobile Broadband service was contributing.

Q. What if I don't want to share my data?

A.  If you don't want to share your data, that's ok! Sharing occurs automatically when any eligible Mobile and Mobile Broadband services are on the same bill. If you don't want to share your data, we'll just need to move your service(s) onto separate bills.

 

 

Back to Top