Keep track of your usage
Optus usage alerts are a handy little addition to your mobile plan that help you keep on top of your talk and data usage each month. They work automatically by sending you an SMS reminder whenever you've reached :
- 50%, 85% and 100% of your monthly plan inclusions
It's important to keep in mind that these usage alerts don't include calls and messages that aren’t part of your plan inclusions, (eg to overseas numbers that are either in excess of your international inclusions or to countries that aren’t included), or usage outside Australia (including purchased Optus Travel™ Packs).
We'll send you a further alert once you've reached (ex GST) $50 on services not included in your plan like usage outside of Australia, 3rd Party Content (Premium SMS & Direct Carrier Billing) or international calls.
Plus, if you are travelling overseas, we will send you an alert for every $100 of estimated spend while roaming.
Usage alerts may be delayed by up to 48 hours so it's recommended you do not rely solely on them. Note that usage alerts may be delayed by longer than 48 hours if you are using your data overseas on roaming.
What happens after you reach 100%?
My Plan or My Plan Plus customers
You'll automatically get extra minutes or data and receive additional alerts at 85% and 100%.
Customers on other mobile plans
You'll be charged your plan's regular rates. To find out what they are, check out your Critical Information Summary (CIS).
Just a tip - check your bill for your plan's exact name (or ID number) so you can find it on the CIS page.
Other ways to help keep track
Business customer with more than six services? Get in touch with your Account Executive to manage your alerts.
For more information, head to our Frequently Asked Questions page.
The Nitty Gritty
You should not rely solely on these services as a means of monitoring your mobile usage. They're not available on all plans and handsets.
Timing and accuracy of alerts:
Alerts, top up messages and updates to My Optus App or My Account usage information are not generated in real-time and a delay of up to 48 hours may be experienced due to system limitations. Due to these potential delays all % usage will be an approximation. In the last 48 hours of your billing cycle you may not receive alerts, top up messages or updated details of your usage. If your usage triggers more than one alert within 48 hours you may receive only one alert.
Changing plans affects your alerts:
Customers that change or recontract their plan or add or remove certain services such as mobile internet packs may have alerts and top up messages suspended until their next bill cycle.
You can opt out of alerts and top up messages through My Account. Your opt in preferences for marketing materials may affect your eligibility for top up messages.